Standfield Takes King’s Crown

Despite serious doubts that the club would face a repeat of their previous dust bath, Portsmouth MX managed to fit in a whole day of racing, thanks to the efforts of the committee and track crew.  Competing with Farleigh and the Pirelli Masters meant fewer numbers but did the club a favour, and the reversed circuit gave the riders a new perspective of Swanmore.

The Autos were out first, and it looked like Jake Webb was going to be on top after winning the opening moto, but crashes and bike issues saw him disappointingly drop out the top three.  Unable to score a clean sweep this week, Jacob Collins still pushed his bike to the max to score two wins in the closing motos and scored top spot.  Fabian Morrison Junior improved as the day went on and the conditions got trickier, blasting into second spot in the final moto.  He proudly finished the day in second overall.  Arash Deering’s starts are something to be admired, and pushed him straight to the front of the pack in each moto.  Going 3-4-3 he ended the day in third overall.

A pure masterclass from Thomas Shutler in the Rookies class saw him lead from start to finish, nobody within an inch of being able to take the lead. A straight set of flawless wins gave him the overall victory.  A number of riders battled it out for the runner-up spot, with Charlie Razzell and Liam Brosnan going head-to-head, but Razzell grabbed the extra speed to stay ahead and took second overall.  Brosnan was back to his best and rode impeccably, going 3-3-6 to take home third overall.

Breath-taking style and pace from the Premier veterans saw a change at the front at last! Despite winning race one, Darren King was unable to hold onto his crown as Howard Standfield reigned supreme.  Standfield was on King’s back wheel as they crossed the finish line in the opening moto, but pushed his way straight to the front in the closing motos to grab the wins, and took home the overall.  After a coming together with Martin Bradbury in race two which left both riders trailing at the back, he pushed his way back into seventh, but chased Standfield down all the way to the finish in race three to finish in second, second overall on the day.  Tony Hale stayed out of trouble, and sat behind the leaders waiting to pounce on any misfortune. Great speed and precision saw him go 3-3-4 to take home third overall.

Action packed as always in the MX2 class with rivals Bradley Wheeler and Mitch Young going head-to-head for the win.  TP FOX Holeshot winner Wheeler charged straight to the front of the opening motos to bag the win, and was looking to settle for second in the last. Young lead the race but ditched it on the LAST corner to lose the lead awarding Wheeler all three race wins, with Young finishing up in second.  Olivier Cook was hot on the leader’s heels, not putting a wheel wrong all day to go 3-3-3 and claim third overall.

A pure masterclass of skill, speed and precision came courtesy of MX1 rider Nicky Watts.  Style for miles in the opening races to take the wins, but gave Craig Daffin a go in the last race to take the lead.  He soon passed him and sped on to victory, and claimed the overall.  Carl Turner remained in the thick of it at the front in all three motos, a good pace seeing him go 2-3-4 to finish second overall.  Despite Jake Penny’s nasty spill in the opening moto, he fought his way back into the top three in the remaining races, brilliant riding rewarding him with third overall.

Thomas Casbeard was unstoppable in the Big Wheel 85cc class, miles ahead of his rivals, and three comfortable wins sent him home happy.  Jake Wotherspoon rode the races of his life, putting 110% effort in, and reaped the rewards.  Going 3-2-2 he proudly finished in second overall.  Caleb Holford was on top form too, an amazing second place in race one rewarded his hard efforts, and adding two fourth places secured him the top three spot.

A mixed day for James O’Mara who had to work extra hard to come through the field, but rewarded himself with a race win in moto two, securing enough points to take the overall victory. An outstanding day for Jack Driver, who rode his heart out to finish up in his best ever position. In a jam packed field he fought tooth-and-nail to improve on his normal mid-pack performances, leaving the best for last to secure an amazing second place, rewarding him with second overall, well done Jack!!  Despite having no brake in race three, Jacob Ball battled on, still managing to secure a top six position, added to his impressive fourth and fifth places earlier in the day, he still managed to secure third overall.

Last out were the Junior’s, and what a mixed bag of results! Three different winners throughout the day, but it was to be last race winner Kieran Paget who reigned supreme, a fine set of motos, working up the field going from third to second to first to grab the overall.  Ben Sullivan was in the mix too, having to work hard in race one, but comfortably slotted into his usual top spots, finishing third and second to take home second overall. A bad day at the office for Charlie Richmond despite winning the opening moto.  Crashing in the same spot with the same rider in both the remaining motos left champ Charlie having to push himself to the max, coming back from last to sixth and fifth, but still finished in a credible third overall.


VMX: 1 Howard Standfield, 2 Darren King, 3 Tony Hale, 4 Mark Morris, 5 Brad Aspden, 6 Paul Finesse Spacagna.

MX2: 1 Bradley Wheeler, 2 Mitch Young, 3 Olivier Cook, 4 Luke Kennett, 5 Tallon Aspden, 6 Craig Cartwright.

MX1: 1 Nicky Watts, 2 Carl Turner, 3 Jake Penny, 4 Craig Daffin, 5 Tom Tee, 6 Craig Durston.

Rookies: 1 Thomas Shutler, 2 Charlie Razzell, 3 Liam Brosnan, 4 Callum Allison, 5 Michael Eggett, 6 Jordan Woodward.

BW85: 1 Thomas Casbeard, 2 Jake Wotherspoon, 3 Caleb Holford, 4 Danny Morris, 5 Henry Hearn, 6 Jack Milsted.

SW85: 1 James O’Mara, 2 Jack Driver, 3 Jacob Ball, 4 Max Brazier, 5 Harrison Hopwood, 6 Cody Spacagna.

65s: 1 Kieran Paget, 2 Ben Sullivan, 3 Charlie Richmond, 4 Archie Kemp, 5 Jake Brown, 6 Mitchell Woodward.

50s: 1 Jacob Collins, 2 Fabian Morrison Jnr, 3 Arash Deering, 4 Blu Kinch, 5 Jake Webb, 6 Kian Duell.

PMXC, Rd 7 Summer

Report by Kay Kennedy

Images courtesy of