Dragon Finale at Henbury

Dragon Quad Racing headed to Hanbury just on the west side of Redditch for the final two rounds of the MCF sanctioned British Quad XC Championship. There was a great turn out of riders with points needed to clinch the majority of the Championship classes. Some of the classes went right down to the wire with the Clubman class being decided in sight of the finish line on Sunday.

The weekend started with soggy ground with the paddock access a challenge but the weather held off for the weekend resulting in some great battles throughout the two days of racing.

Callum Brooks and Will Dunlop set off at a pace at the front of the Youth Quads on Saturday morning and maintained those positions throughout the one and a half hour session. With each lap taking just over 10 minutes Brooks built up a 1 minute cushion by the end. Shelley Smart on the Youth Hybrid quad was running in fifth at the start but soon progressed to third and was the only other rider on the lead lap at the end. James Maybury headed up the 125cc class running in a credible 10th place in the overall with Harry Exley getting the better of Caelan Davis for second spot.  Brooks and Dulnlop were running at the front again on Sunday ahead of Dylan McKenna in the Hybrid class and Smart once again.  Things took a twist towards the end of the session when Brooks pitted allowing Dunlop to take up the running. They say timing is everything and Dunlop crossed the line with just over a minute to run in the session and a crash on that last lap put him out and he collected a DNF. Having crossed the line in what looked like a sure second McKenna was credited the victory ahead of Brooks with Smart in third. Exley and Davis got away ahead of Maybury in the 125cc class. The lead changed hands a couple of times but it was Exley that crossed the line just 1 second ahead of Davis.

The Miniquad 50 and 90cc riders compete over a shortened version of the track for 30 minutes each day and It was Freddie Robinson that took an early lead, competing in the 50cc class. Louie Holt took over the lead on lap two on his 90cc class machine and Robinson held on to second for half the event until losing out to Harry Davenport and finally finishing in sixth after some bike issues. Owen Stephens went on to win the 50cc class from Morgan Humphreys. Holt Davenport and Robinson got away at the front on Sunday and Holt shot off to take a convincing win in the 90cc class whilst Robinson got the best out of the 50cc finishing on the same lap as Davenport with Stephens in second.

The Adult events comprised six different classes giving a wide variety of both ability and machinery making for interesting racing throughout the field.  The expert plus class left the line first on Saturday and predictably it was Paul Winrow, Rhydian Owen and Alex Bethell out front. Owen developed bike trouble after two laps and was soon sidelined.  Bethell kept Winrow in sight and moved in front on three occasions until Winrow pulled a gap with two laps to go winning by 12 seconds. Matty Morris had a consistent race crossing the line in third place. Iestyn Rowlands was the first round in the Expert class ahead of Jamie Bone and Matt Jones with the 4x4 of Steve Atkins getting in the mix. Rowlands initially lost some places but came strong for the class win from Bone and Martin Evison. Atkins came out on top of the 4x4 class just 1 lap behind the leaders with the Clubman win going to Jacob Woodward, 4x4 Light being won by Katie Hodgson and Axel Bone taking the Sportsman class. Sunday saw a few extra riders turn up and take to the start line and it was Bethell that led the field for lap one from Winrow and Owen with Jamie Morgan and Jordan Hickman in close formation. Rowlands was the first Expert through ahead of Jamie Bone on a bike loaned for the day by brother Axel with important championship points up for grabs. Simon David was the first of the big 4x4 class through in 14th.  Owen again only lasted three laps before falling foul of gremlins once again and Hickman moved up in to third with Morgan also out of the running. Bethell had his own problems after taking the lead on lap 6 dropping him back two laps on the field. Hickman temporarily took over at the front when Winrow pitted on lap nine but he came back to take the win by a full lap from Hickman with Expert David Richards in third and Evison fourth. Laura Linton and Hodgson took the 4x4 and lights wins with Luke Richards heading the Clubman class and Gemma Pryce taking the win in the Sportsman.

With the season now complete the organisers at DQR are taking a well-earned rest whilst working out the championship points which will be posted online shortly.

The next get together for the DQR riders will be the sold out presentation evening on 11th November.

Saturday - Round 7     Sunday - Round 8  
Expert Plus              
Pos No. Name Laps   Pos No. Name Laps
1 13 Paul Winrow 17   1 13 Paul Winrow 18
2 97 Alex Bethell 17   2 4 Jordan Hickman 17
3 8 Matty Morris 17   3 97 Alex Bethell 15
Pos No. Name Laps   Pos No. Name Laps
1 13 Iestyn Rowlands 16   1 396 David Richards 16
2 11 Jamie Bone 16   2 73 Martin Evison 16
3 73 Martin Evison 15   3 48 Jim Evans 15
Pos No. Name Laps   Pos No. Name Laps
1 111 Stephen Atkins 16   1 424 Laura Linton 15
2 47 Simon David 16   2 47 Simon David 14
3 46 Sam Clowes 16   3 181 Graham Guy 14
4x4 Lights              
Pos No. Name Laps   Pos No. Name Laps
1 141 Katie Hodgson 15   1 141 Katie Hodgson 15
2 611 Derek Burns 14   2 68 Lawrence Dascombe 15
3 68 Lawrence Dascombe 14   3 611 Derek Burns 15
Pos No. Name Laps   Pos No. Name Laps
1 59 Jacob Woodward 14   1 124 Luke Richards 15
2 39 Moose Pittaway 13   2 416 Andrew Pickles 15
3 172 Dale Roberts 13   3 94 Jarrod Moore 15
Pos No. Name Laps   Pos No. Name Laps
1 56 Axel Bone 15   1 303 Gemma Pryce 15
2 83 Harry Brennan 15   2 93 Will Dunlop 14
3 303 Gemma Pryce 15   3 9 Vassna Willcock 13
Youth Hybrid              
Pos No. Name Laps   Pos No. Name Laps
1 666 Shelley Smart 9   1 5 Dylan McKenna 9
2 125 Josh Talent 8   2 666 Shelley Smart 9
2 5 Dylan McKenna 8   3 125 Josh Talent 7
Youth Quad              
Pos No. Name Laps   Pos No. Name Laps
1 33 Callum Brooks 9   1 33 Callum Brooks 9
2 93 Will Dunlop 9   2 44 William Morgan 9
3 610 Brandon Saunders 8   3 31 Joey Hawkins 9
Youth 125cc              
Pos No. Name Laps   Pos No. Name Laps
1 16 James Maybury 7   1 9 Harry Exley 8
2 9 Harry Exley 7   2 8 Caelan Davis 8
3 8 Caelan Davis 7   3 16 James Maybury 8
Miniquad 90cc              
Pos No. Name Laps   Pos No. Name Laps
1 30 Louie Holt 13   1 30 Louie Holt 12
2 24 Harry Davenport 13   2 24 Harry Davenport 11
3 125 Amelia Talent 2          
Miniquad 50cc              
Pos No. Name Laps   Pos No. Name Laps
1 1 Owen Stephens 9   1 58 Freddie Robinson 11
2 46 Morgan Humphreys 8   2 1 Owen Stephens 9
3 58 Freddie Robinson 8   3 46 Morgan Humphreys 8


Share This Post: